The Orr’s and Bailey Islands Fire Department Board of Directors welcomed four new members and elected a new leadership team during its first meeting of 2022. The board also unanimously approved a budget of $338,000 for the new year, which includes the costs of outfitting a new fire truck, now expected to arrive in 2023, and reflects the impact of inflation on the cost of operating the department.

The new members joining the board for three-year terms include Chandra Appell, Janet Coombs, Janice Skillings-Goff and Beth York. Two board members, Allan LeGrow and Phil Taylor, termed off the board after serving for six years. Directors Ron Hutchins and Bart Beattie had submitted their resignations earlier. All departing board members were heartily thanked for their service to the department and their community at the Jan. 25 meeting.

OBIFD’s new Executive Committee consists of President Christine Donovan-Hall, Vice President Pete Nikitas, Treasurer Steve Broughall and Secretary Margaret Broughall. Fire Chief Ben Wallace Jr., who also serves as chief of the Cundy’s Harbor Volunteer Fire Department, was unanimously reappointed to a one-year term. Wallace and Alex Hamm, who serves as rescue captain, are both ex officio committee members.