The town election on March 12 will see one contest, as Ryan Larsen and Tyler Washburn seek a three-year term on the Maine School Administrative District 75 Board of Directors.

Larsen and Washburn were the only candidates to qualify for the ballot by the Jan. 11 deadline. Margaret “Greta” Warren had said in December that she would run, but decided to back Larsen instead.

Washburn, a second-generation graduate of MSAD 75 schools, was a student representative to the board during his time at Mt. Ararat High School. He represented Bowdoin on the board from 2018-2021, when he resigned because he was moving to Orr’s Island.
Washburn chaired the board in 2019 and has served on the board’s committees for facilities, finance, negotiations, policy and superintendent evaluation.

“I’m thankful for my education and the opportunities our schools afforded me,” he said in an email. “I want to make sure that the kids of today have those same opportunities to succeed and grow.”

“The world is a rapidly changing place and the challenges facing our youth are unprecedented — at school and at home,” he added. “I am running for the school board because I believe that, now more than ever, experience matters.”

Washburn is a deputy town clerk and assistant tax collector for the town of Topsham.

Larsen, of Harpswell Neck, has three daughters in MSAD 75 schools — one each at Harpswell Community School, Mt. Ararat Middle School and Mt. Ararat High.

“The foundation of a healthy and successful school district depends on the teachers, administrators and staff,” Larsen said in a letter. “The relationship between this group and the school board should be one of partnership, empowerment and trust. I believe the board can best accomplish its critical role of management and oversight by embracing this partnership to achieve a beneficial outcome for all.”

“I am an open-minded thinker committed to problem-solving,” Larsen added. “I believe strongly in advocating for mental health and the role schools can play in helping children build skills to address mental health challenges. I support an inclusive, welcoming school where kids and staff feel accepted.”

Larsen works in merchandising and product development for L.L. Bean.

Elsewhere on the ballot, Selectman Jane Covey and Tax Collector Jill Caldwell will seek reelection to their posts and interim Town Clerk Catherine Doughty will seek election as town clerk for the first time. All are unopposed and all terms are three years.

The polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Harpswell Community School. Absentee ballots will be available 30 days before the vote.

A grant from the Maine Humanities Council supports the Harpswell Anchor’s reporting on town government.